Search_left Search_button
Training for senior Volunteers - Level 2

Description: In-Service Training Topics

The Agelong Learning Model (developed by Caroline E. Crocoll) contains seven key categories that stakeholders believe are important to senior volunteer development. These training categories include:

* Assignment-Related Knowledge and Skills
* Policies and Regulations
* Social Interaction
* Personal Development
* Resource Information
* Program Support
* Civic Identity

Project directors, volunteers, and volunteer station staff expressed the importance of on-going training in the knowledge and skills associated with the volunteer assignment. They also stressed that information on policies and regulations of the volunteer program should be incorporated into in-service training to keep volunteers continually updated on changes at all relevant levels.

Volunteers expressed the importance of sharing their experiences and reflections through social interaction with peers. They also stated a need to celebrate and be recognized for their accomplishments and contributions. These factors enhance the quality of training through an informal service-learning process.

The final four categories of in-service training emerged as a means of strengthening the senior volunteer's feelings of competence and identity and thus their ability to be more effective in the field. If programs consider their training goal as not only enhancing the senior volunteers' skills, but also providing new information relative to the volunteers' personal welfare, the categories of personal development, resource information, program support, and civic identity become critical to maximizing volunteer potential.

Date: Friday, 21/10/2011 - Saturday, 22/10/2011